It’s Plyometric: Burn Fat Fast with This Do-Anywhere 30-Minute Plyometric Circuit

30-minute Plyometrics Circuit

Happy Workout Wednesday, everyone! Are you planning to work out today? If you have a full-time job, kids, a side project (like a really awesome blog!), and a lengthy to-do list, then finding time to hit the gym may sound impossible.

I’ve had a pretty busy week myself: on top of work, developing my personal business plan, and helping my trainer with his social media marketing, I’m also taking an online course. But I refuse to let my fitness goals fall by the wayside! Luckily, for the past few weeks I’ve been incorporating some plyometric exercises into my weekly workout routine.

If you’ve never heard of or done plyometrics (also known as “jump training”) before, they are basically movements that stretch a muscle before contracting it, such as jumping in the air, landing in a squat and immediately jumping back up again.

Plyometric movements are explosive and work several muscles at once, which means you can burn a ton of calories in a relatively short amount of time. A few weeks back my trainer Adam suggested I swap a few of my regular 45- to 60-minute cardio sessions on the elliptical with a 30-minute plyometric workout to help me bust through my current weight-loss plateau. I came up with the workout I’m sharing with you today based on some of the moves Adam has had me do during our training sessions. Not only does this workout make me sweat more than my typical cardio routine, but I’ve noticed my legs have gotten stronger and my rest periods are getting shorter—which means I’m getting fitter! I also noticed that I have a little more time in my day: the workout takes about 30 minutes (depending on your rest periods); if you have more time (lucky you!), you can repeat the four-circuit routine a third time for an intense 45-minute workout.

About the Workout: This workout is broken down into four circuits and includes a countdown method for some of the moves, which means you perform sets of descending reps (e.g., you do a set of 20 reps, then a set of 15 reps, then 10 reps, and then 5 reps). What I like about using this method is that as your muscles fatigue, the workload gets reduced, so you get just enough recovery to keep pushing on. It also gives me a bit of a mental push because as I get tired, I know that I get to do less as I move on, which makes it seem less overwhelming and more achievable.

What to do: Perform the following moves in each circuit one after the other with little to no rest. Grab a drink of water or take a quick 30-second rest before moving on to the next circuit. After you’ve completed all the circuits, rest for 60-90 seconds and repeat the entire sequence once more.

Estimated time: 30 Minutes (performing the four-circuit routine 2x)

Circuit One:
20 jumping jacks
8 Burpees
20 Jumping Jacks
6 Burpees
20 Jumping Jacks
4 Burbees
20 Jumping Jacks
2 Burpees

Circuit 2:
Run up stairs (and walk down) 5x
20 Mountain climbers
Run up stairs 4x
20 Mountain climbers
Run up stairs 3x
20 Mountain Climbers
Run up stairs 2x
20 Mountain Climbers
Run up stairs 1x

Circuit 3:
20 High Knees
20 Jump Squats
20 High Knees
15 Jump Squats
20 High Knees
10 Jump Squats
20 High Knees
5 Jump Squats

Circuit 4:
20 Jumping Jacks
20 Mountain Climbers
15 Jumping Jacks
15 Mountain Climbers
10 Jumping Jacks
10 Mountain Climbers
5 Jumping Jacks
5 Mountains Climbers

IMPORTANT: Plyometrics are not for everyone and should only be performed if you are well rested, injury free, and have established good form and alignment with basic movements like squats and lunges. When performing moves, be sure to pay attention to your form during all of the exercises and stop immediately if something hurts. While you should keep your rest periods short (about 30 seconds), take a few extra seconds if needed to make sure you have enough energy to continue the routine with proper form and explosiveness.

Do you incorporate plyometrics into your training routine? What are some of your favorite plyometric exercises?

Leave a Reply

