My Go-To Breakfast: Sweet Cinnamon Egg Whites & Oatmeal with Banana & Almond Milk

20140910_09041320140910_085434

Good morning, everyone! I hope your day is off to a wonderful and healthy start. The morning is actually one of my favorite times of the day because I have some “me time” to think, read, plan my day, and, of course, eat a delicious and nutritious breakfast. If you’ve read any fitness or bodybuilding blogs, you’re probably aware of the typical breakfast of egg whites and oatmeal. This meal offers a great combination of protein and complex carbs to jump-start your metabolism, give you energy for your day, and keep you full until lunchtime. I usually workout in the late morning/early afternoon and this combo gets me through my workout and doesn’t leave me ravenous hours later.

I tend to have a sweet tooth and have always preferred a little something sweet for breakfast. Savory breakfast options, no matter how filling they are, just don’t seem to satisfy me the same way.  If you’re looking for a sweet yet healthy breakfast that will keep you full and energized, than I highly recommend you give my sweet cinnamon egg whites and oatmeal a try. You may be thinking, “What are sweet cinnamon egg whites?” Well, my friend, don’t knock it until you try it. I discovered this idea on Instagram and thought the same thing. But when you think about it, egg whites are pretty bland so you can flavor them however you like, we’re just used to the common savory staples like vegetables and cheese. The best thing about this recipe is that it’s also great for a late night snack if you tend to crave sweets at night and/or need to meet your protein macros for the day (some days I still need at least 20 grams of protein AFTER I’ve eaten dinner!).

Here are the ingredients and instructions for my sweet cinnamon egg whites and oatmeal. Give this breakfast try and let me know what you think!

Tell me: Do you prefer to eat something sweet or savory for breakfast?

What You’ll Need:

20140924_083051  20140924_084915

  • 4 – 5 egg whites (this equals 12 – 15 tbsp of liquid egg whites, or 2/3 cup (12 tbsp) to a little over 3/4 cup (15 tbsp))
  • Cinnamon
  • 1 – 2 tbsp. sugar substitute of choice ( I rotate between Splenda and Truvia)
  • 1/2 cup oats (I switch between quick oats and Wegman’s Weight Control oatmeal packets)
  • 1 medium banana
  • 1/4 – 1/3 cup unsweetened almond milk (I use Almond Breeze unsweetened Almond Coconut Milk)

Instructions:

How to Make the Sweet Cinnamon Egg Whites:

1. Spray a small skillet with cooking spray and heat over low heat. In a bowl (I use a measuring cup), combine egg whites with 1 – 2 tbsp. of sugar substitute. (I use 2 tbsp. for 5 egg whites.) Stir to combine and pour mixture into skillet.

20140924_083218

2. Sprinkle cinnamon over eggs, covering the entire top.

20140924_083250

3. Raise heat to medium-low; stir eggs as they begin to cook.

20140924_083919

4. Cook eggs on medium-low heat, stirring occasionally, for about 5 minutes or until fully cooked.

20140924_084333

5. Transfer cooked egg whites to plate and enjoy!

20140924_084617

How to Make the Oatmeal with Banana & Almond Milk:

1. Combine 1/2 cup oats with 1 cup water bowl. Microwave for 1 minute and 30 seconds (or as instructed on box).

2. After oatmeal is cooked, sprinkle with cinnamon (if preferred) and pour in 1/4 – 1/3 cup of unsweetened almond milk; stir to combine.

20140924_085011

3. Unpeel banana and dice into bite-size pieces; add banana to oatmeal and mix well.

20140924_085213

4. (optional) Re-heat oatmeal in microwave for 1 minute before serving.

20140924_085600

I hope you enjoy this breakfast as much as I do! (I eat it EVERY. DAY.)

Do you eat egg whites and oatmeal for breakfast? What’s your favorite thing to eat for breakfast?

Leave a Reply

